Hear65’s music video guide (July 2023) — ft. The Island Voices, Aisyah Aziz, Jeyes, and more

Hear65’s music video guide (July 2023) — ft. The Island Voices, Aisyah Aziz, Jeyes, and more

When it comes to music, music videos are important supplements to what we can hear as they stimulate our visual senses in a way that sound cannot.

From creative homemade projects to cinematic works that beg to be seen on a big screen, all forms of music videos are released by Singapore's talented musicians seeking to extend the stories told in their songs every month. In this monthly series, we will be rounding up the latest releases from our sunny island that might fly under the radar. 

Check out Hear65's guide to local music videos for July and contact us at hello@hear65.com to submit your music videos!

The Island Voices - 'Evolution Of NDP Songs'

Released: 23 July 2023

Join homegrown vocal outfit The Island Voices, one of the artists featured in this year's NDP theme song, 'Shine Your Light', as they present a highly energetic medley of NDP theme songs through the years. With NDP 2023 fast approaching, there really isn't a better way to get yourself in the mood to celebrate the nation's 58th birthday.

Jeyes - 'only us (we can forget)'

Released: 23 July 2023

A playground is not the first place that would come to mind when you're thinking of romantic spots to go to when you're on a date. Yet in the nostalgic music video for 'only us (we can forget)', it serves as the setting for a dreamy day out between Jeyes and his special someone. If there's one thing we can learn from it, it is that when you are with the right person, you can create precious memories with them regardless of where you are. 

Masdo ft. Aisyah Aziz - 'Pujaanku'

Released: 21 July 2023

Malaysian band Masdo and Singaporean vocalist Aisyah Aziz appear as members of a band at a class reunion party in this retro-inspired music video for their collaborative track 'Pujaanku'. Here, the song serves as the soundtrack for the story of two classmates whose love for each other is rekindled after many years.

Joel Quintis and The Cold Cut Duo - 'Obsessed'

Released: 21 July 2023

As its opening title card tell us, love is complicated, and more often than not, it leaves us feeling confused and in pain. In the music video for 'Obsessed', Joel Quintis and The Cold Cut Duo play individuals who are trying to make sense of a relationship gone wrong. 

Matilde G - 'Lullaby'

Released: 21 July 2023

Singapore-based Italian singer Matilde G invites us to join her as she parties the night away in the music video for the newest single, 'Lullaby'

Kit Chan - 'Home (25th Anniversary Remake)'

Released: 21 July 2023

'Home' is a song that needs no introduction and to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the iconic NDP song's release, Kit Chan has shared a remake of it with Singaporeans. As the veteran vocalist strolls along the Marina Bay area and does everyday activities such as having kaya toast and coffee at a hawker centre in the song's music video, we are reminded of the things that make this island our home.

MYRNE ft. Joyia - 'Freefall'

Released: 14 July 2023

The latest track from MYRNE, which features Canadian singer-songwriter Joyia, sounds like something that was sent back in time from the future. And instead of leaving its place of origin to our imagination, the DJ and producer invites us to take a trip to it in the music video for 'Freefall'. Featuring breathtaking shots of a technologically advanced metropolis and a black-and-white android protagonist, the video is a must-watch for lovers of the sci-fi genre.

奇市樂團 Quis - 多一分鐘 ONE MINUTE MORE

Released: 13 July 2023

As clips of a clock, clouds, and individuals going about their daily lives play behind her, Joyce Lim delivers a stirring interpretive dance performance in the music video for 奇市樂團 Quis' '多一分鐘 ONE MINUTE MORE'. The self-choreographed display from the dancer and cosplayer is not something you would expect to see in a Mandopop-rock music video, but here, it combines seamlessly with 奇市樂團 Quis' powerful and timely lyrics to remind us to cherish every second that we have in our lives. 

yeule - 'dazies'

Released: 13 July 2023

The visually stunning music video for 'dazies' is the final product yielded from the blending of brilliant makeup work and costuming, a gothic aesthetic à la Tim Burton, and a haunting performance from singer-songwriter yeule, who plays a broken android. It might take multiple viewings to fully understand this one, but when a music video looks as good as 'dazies' does, surely no one will find it a chore to do so. 


Released: 13 July 2023

The quirky new single from Reub, 'THUNDER N’ LIGHTNING ⛈️', has come paired with an equally quirky music video. Directed by Naris Saropala, it is a delight to watch thanks to shots of Reub being silly while singing and dancing at places such as a field surrounded by horses, a staircase, and a pool. Love can be complicated at times, but through this video, Reub has shown that humour can be an effective means of processing your emotions sometimes. 

Harvinth Skin, Yung Raja, and Fariz Jabba - 'OK DAH'

Released: 11 July 2023

Filmed during the IT'S THE SHIP festival, this video follows Malaysian YouTube sensation Harvinth Skin and Singaporean hip-hop artists Yung Raja and Fariz Jabba as they live out their biggest cruise ship fantasies. As they rap the infectious lyrics to their new collaborative track 'OK DAH' while chilling in a pool, walking down a corridor with braggadocio, and even doing pull-ups on a basketball hoop, the trio show viewers what it truly means to have a rollicking good time.

Goose 我鳥 x OHMYMEITING - '岑靜の世界 (不插電版)'

Released: 3 July 2023

Performing from a serene pasture, Mandopop artists Goose 我鳥 and OHMYMEITING deliver a stripped-down version of '岑靜の世界' that is accompanied by soothing ambient noises. Filmed in a single take, this is a refreshing music video that encourages viewers to slow down and experience the healing power of both music and nature.

Dru Chen, Rangga Jones, and Gentle Bones - 'Mess In Me/ Summertime (Acoustic)'

Released: 3 July 2023

It's interesting to see how artists reimagine their creations, and in this video, we find Dru Chen putting new spins on two tracks from his latest album, Slower Life. Together with his fellow local acts and Slower Life collaborators Rangga Jones and Gentle Bones, the singer-songwriter presents acoustic renditions of 'Mess In Me' and 'Summertime' that are every bit as delightful as their original studio versions.